Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that museums and art galleries should focus more on works that shows history and culture of their own country instead of works of different parts of the world.The writer strongly agrees with the notion. First of all,it is an undeniable fact that displaying more of one's own culture and history helps people understand and value their culture. This is because, the more people see and hear about their arts the more they will get to know and appreciate the culture. For instance,in African countries such as Ghana where they have rich culture being displayed often in tourist sites,the people values and understands the culture and history more. As a result,they do not tolerate any form of disrespect against their history from other continents since the know a lot and appreciates their cultural heritage. This clearly shows why focus should be shifted more on one's own culture Additionally,concentrating more on one's own culture helps attract tourists to the nation. This is because,when the culture of a specific country is being displayed often through media and the news it helps foreigners develop more desire to come visit such places.As a results,the government is able to generate revenue from monies used by tourists to develop tourist sites such as museums and art galleries. A research conducted by students in the university of cape coast revealed that, tourism has rapidly increased over the past few years due to the trend of showing of one own culture. To recapitulate,concentrating on owns own culture helps citizens learn,understand and value one's culture and also attracts tourists in the nation. Therefore,the writer strongly agrees that more attention should be given to one's own culture