In some countries young people are encouraged to work or tavel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

After finishing high school and starting university is usually the best time to travel, as most people are not tied to a workplace yet. Many countries want to encourage this to help young people learn about other cultures and build self-confidence. However, having a long break before studying also comes with disadvantages I want to discuss in this essay. On the one hand, traveling the world at some point in life can build a lot of self-confidence as many big decisions have to be made constantly. These decisions can include finding work, buying a car, or booking a hotel without the help of parents. Furthermore, by learning to get around in a foreign city with a different culture and language, decision-making skills can be developed. Not only that, but meeting different people from different countries can also reduce racism and teach social skills. On the other hand, taking a break from high school, which prepares people for university, can have a negative impact on starting a new degree program. Without the constant routine of going to school, many people lack the motivation to go back to university and study again. I myself wanted to study when I was in school; however, a year of traveling showed me that going back to university, learning theory for another three years without earning money, seemed like a waste of time. Whilst this can be good for the individual, for society as a whole it can be disadvantageous if fewer people want to study important professions. In conclusion, traveling after school has many benefits, creates a culturally and socially open society, and gives many young students a confidence boost. I firmly believe traveling can be very beneficial; however, the decision has to be made by everyone for themselves.