Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the causes of studying other language has becoming increasingly controversial. Some people believe that lingustic education is for traveling or being expats overseas purpose, while other people argue that there are several reasons to learn new languages. In this essay I will examine both views and provide my opinion. On the one hand, there is a belief that aims of learning new languague are for journey or for workig in other countries. This is because those reasons can be worth to invest for learners. It is true that studying new skills, especially language skill, consume a lots of time, energy and money to understand foreigners speaking. Hence, linguistic learners should use their ability of speaking other language in international environment in order to gain more experiences or earn more income. Moreover, living in domestic has less chance to use foreign language as they may normally meet native speakers more than expats. Therefore, it is possible that the learner may forget what they have learn and that would be waste amount of times and money. Traveling and working in overseas seem to be worth for high investment and strenghening their ability of understanding other langusgue. On the other hand, others believe that learning foreign languages can be useful even in domestic and still have plenty of oppotunities to achieve the goals without traveling or having job in other countries. Since, in the globalization era, many organizations have to incorporate with foreigners to develop themselves. For example, they have to acknowledge about internation trade laws for their compliance. So, the language student can have more jobs oppotunities in their own state and earn more income to worth dedicated time and costs. In addition, technologies like a social media or social applications play an important role to reshape haman behavior in their society. When people turn on their smartphone, they can connect and interact with foreigners. Consequently, they will be able to practise their foreign language constantly. In conclusion, not only oppotunities in overseas can offer linguistic learners to have return interest to accomplish their aims, but also in their own country where global roles and technologies provide them many oppotunities too. In my opinion, I learn second or third languages for entertaining myself as I can understand foreigners better such as novel and social media contants.