Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

While it is commonly thought that traffic accidents can be controlled by strict punishments, others believe that road safety is what people need to focus on. I’m going to discuss these opposing points of view. In my opinion, I agree with both statements. On the one hand, it is argued that people can minimise the number of traffic accidents by applying high penalties or suspending the driver’s license for a period. The main reason is that the offences are now detected by surveillance cameras, so drivers would be more careful in driving on the roads, which then lowers the risk of accidents. It is also possible to say that the confinement of driver’s licenses is one of the solutions which is applied to bring down many cases. For instance, the fines for speeding and crossing traffic lights are announced as significant amounts since they are the main reasons leading to road accidents. Another reason is that without a license, people would not be able to drive any vehicles. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that people should be well educated about road safety. People often have this opinion because understanding the importance of driving safely not only protects us but also ensures that it does not affect others. A second point is that education is the best way to transfer knowledge to our next generation about this situation. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that applying punishments is a way to bring down accident cases; meanwhile, others assume that other solutions can be used to develop road safety. Personally, I tend to believe that both aspects must be considered to improve this situation, as people will not remember without being punished and will not know how to drive safely without fully understanding the laws and regulations.