The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and solution of this disturbing trend.

There is no denying the fact that in the last ten years, the proportion of overweight children in the western part of the world has largely increased. This essay will discuss the causes and the solutions of the overweight children. To begin with, there are many reasons for the rising rates of childhood obesity. Firstly, the major problem is the lack of education. In other words, although schools work on giving crucial information about history, math, science, and language, they have not taken care of the serious causes and the consequences of eating fast food. In addition, the norm of society plays a huge role in affecting a child's eating habit. For instance, many studies have shown that 88% of children's diet is greatly influenced by their parents' diet. In terms of the solutions, both government and schools should collaborate to ensure that students receive the proper knowledge about food, by creating educational programs. It is also possible to say that when students are more aware of things, like unhealthy ingredients, how an unhealthy diet affects our mental and physical health in the long-term, and why we eat in the first place, all of which contribute greatly to making children more likely to choose healthier options. Moreover, helding competitions at school can be quite exciting and educational for students. For example, rewarding individuals who consume more healthy food at the end of the semester can be encouraging to adopt healthier food. In conclusion, there are many reasons behind children's obesity. It is also true that spreading awareness about the importance of healthy food can largely reduce the concerning trend.