While it is commonly thought that parents are responsible for supervising children during play, others believe that they should be given the freedom to explore. This essay will discuss these opposing viewpoints. In my opinion, children must be carefully supervised while playing.

While it is commonly thought that parents are responsible for supervising children during play, others believe that they should be given the freedom to explore. This essay will discuss these opposing viewpoints. In my opinion, children must be carefully supervised while playing. On the one hand, it is argued that children should be observed at all times during play. The primarily reason is because their health is of paramount importance. Parents can also intervene immediately as soon as they recognise potential dangers. For instance, parents must keep a close eye on their children when they play on a playground, as they could get injured at any time. Another crucial reason is that a child's well-being also plays a vital role in their lives. For example, by watching children ’s play, parents can recognise their strengths and weaknesses, which in turn helps to create an appropriate environment for them to learn and develop. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by some that children have the right to freely explore. This opinion is often held because they want to assist their children in building a sense of autonomy. A second point is that free play could help children build confidence and a sense of respect. For example, children must have an opportunity to choose what they would like to play and learn. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that supervising children ’s activities is a matter of great concern for parents, while others assume that children can play without adult observation. Personally, I believe that checking on children when they play is significantly crucial.