Some people think that shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drink that has scientifically been proved to have bad effects on people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagreeSome people think that shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drink that has scientifically been proved to have bad effects on people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In many countries, policymakers are debating the effectiveness of outright bans on unhealthy food and drinks to improve public health. While some argue that such measure is considered an oppression, I believe that it is necessary to improve the population's health and the economic growth. To begin with, consuming sustenances that have side effects on physical and mental health should be banned. Shops' products are often high in harmful substances, such as salt, sugar, and trans fats, which consuming them regularly eventually lead to chronic diseases, including diabetes, hypertension, and cardiovascular diseases. Therefore, health -related issues increase the burden on healthcare services, producing not only an unhealthy population but also a struggling economy. For example, a 2023 study in Singapore showed a significant decline in health issues after the government forbade shops from selling processed food. Furthermore, the government should enact a ban on harmful foods and drinks to keep communities organised and productive. To illustrate this, fast food and unhealthy beverages often undermine mental and physical abilities, which negatively influence on residents' productivity, leading to a stagnant economy. For instance, in Saudi Arabia, an absolute ban on alcohol is the primary reason for its thriving economy and healthy population. Consequently, if authorities enacted a law that forbids a wide variety of unhealthy items, such a measure would solve almost all health -related issues. To conclude, although some may argue that consumption should be based on personal freedom, I am convinced that an outright ban on unhealthy items is required. Public health affects the whole nation by causing a strain on healthcare institutions and decreasing the citizens' productivity.