The increasing use of plastic bags is causing environmental damage. What are the causes of this problem, and what solutions can be implemented?

It is true that the use of plastic bags significantly increase the problem of environmental damange. The main causes of this problem are weak waste systems, and harm the wildlife. To address this issue, reusable bags, and ban on plastic bags should be promoted. The main reason for using plastic bags is that they are cheap and easily available in the market. Most individuals do not like to carry their own bags from home, because they know they will get it from the store. And the grocery stores also promoting this cause. It can be seen that the plastic bags are carelessly thrown by individuals, which creates serious concern for human life and for the environment when they are mixed with soil and water as well. Additionally, plastic bags stay in nature for a long time, and they may clog the drains, hurt the soil and pollute the water too. Also, it may harm wildlife such as fish, sea mammals, and domestic animals, when they consume it. A viable solution is to create awareness among society. People should be encouraged to use clothing and paper bags, which are reusable and recyclable. It may help to reduce the problem to some extent. Further, big stores whether they are selling clothes or grocery items, should be strictly warned by the government. In addition, the government should impose higher taxes and a ban on using these bags, and they can set strict rules for the shopkeepers. For example, if they promote or use these bags then they have to face a penalty for that act. In this way, the environment becomes healthier and safer. To sum up, no doubt, the use of plastic bags increases the environmental concerns, and the real causes are inadequate waste management, and consumption by wild animals, and the most suitable solutions are educating society towards this problem, and imposing a ban on bags; etcetera.