Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extant do you agree or disagree?

With the explosive growth of population, people have built dense housing,which occupied plenty of space, and someone holds the view that planting trees is more essential than building more housing in towns and cities. In my opinion, I agreed with the idea, and here are reasons following. First of all, planting more trees in the open spaces improves urban ecological environment, Since trees are able to absorb carbon dioxide and air pollutants, then release oxygen. As a result, the air quality in cities has improved, along with enhancement of people's life. For example, a mature tree can absorb about 20 kilograms of carbon dioxide per year, which is vital for improving urban air quality. Trees serve as an air filter that that's why it's vital to plant more trees. Furthermore, trees functions as maintaining urban balance of biodiversity, due to providing habitats for birds, insects, and other organisms, consequently leading to enriching urban biodiversity. In addition, they also help with soil and water conservation, reducing the risk of urban waterlogging by absorbing rainwater. A recent study in the UK illustrates that if tree cover in these cities were to double to 30 percent from the current average of just under 15 percent, the city could experience an average decrease in summer temperatures of 0.4 degrees Celsius, reducing heat-related deaths of creature by nearly 40 percent. Therefore, planting more trees is very helpful in maintaining the ecological environment. In conclusion, Planting trees in cities has many benefits, not only improving the quality of the environment, but also enhancing the level of life and mental health of residents. Hence, I agree to plant more trees in cities or towns instead of building more housing.