People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past.What do you think is the reason behind this?What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

There is no denying the fact that many people nowadays do not get enough sleep. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and its major effects on individuals. To begin with, there are several reasons for sleeping less these days. Firstly, long working hours have become the norm in society. Sometimes, this can be due to the incentive of getting a promotion, earning higher salaries, or they may be forced to complete assigned projects. Therefore, they often do not get adequate sleep. In addition, the fast paced life we are experiencing in the past few years, significantly contributes to the quality of sleep. For example, people now try to keep up with what is going on around the world through news and social media platforms, which can be overwhelming and greatly affect their sleeping habits. Regarding the effects of such a trend, it does more harm than good. It is possible to say that getting only 4 or 5 hours of sleep affects the physical health. Workers who have to stand up for long hours develop knee and foot problems. Similarly when sitting for a long period of time workers struggle with neck or back issues, as many recent studies have shown. Moreover, it can lead to mental issues. For instance, lack of focus, anxiety, stress, less patience, and weaker memory, all of which are mental effects of sleeping less. In conclusion, there are many reasons for the poor sleeping patterns. It is also true that this approach can lead to lots of mental and physical problems.