It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Youth need to distinguish right and wrong at a relatively young age. Some argue that punishment is essential to help children learn the differences, I believe punishment is required depending on the level of mistakes the youth made. It is undeniable to believe that punishment can be a motivational factor that prevents youngsters from taking the wrong action. Additionally, the correct way of punishment can have a huge benefit on not only children's cognitive skills, but also their social status. With the correct cognitive skills and social status, young adults are more likely to secure a job in the future market. Thus, the importance of the punishment should not be overlooked. However, punishment may have some drawbacks on youth development. If children are exposed to a variety of situations, certain actions will be needed to make inferences from their experience, or at least what the youth think it is the right actions to take. By having severe reinforcement, young generations are unlikely to express themselves, which interrupts their later progress. Nevertheless, children who behave well often require the efforts of both parents and teachers. Instead of hitting and striking their offspring, asking them to do some housework or cleaning seems to be fair for most of the young generation to perform. With the right punishments, young adults will soon emerge the correct mindset for their further achievement. Teachers, on the other hand, should deliver some "difficult tasks" for children to tackle while providing step-by-step instructions if they are unable to solve them. In conclusion, reinforcement is required to take action by both parents and teachers to ensure the youngsters can distinguish right and wrong.