In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Why is this so? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the recent time, it has been observed that individualism is increasing in many communities around the globe. People are choosing their personal goals over the benefits of the society. There are a few reasons behind this development, which are causing some negative impacts in our world. Both of these aspects are further elaborated in the essay. Several reasons can be put forth to understand the causes behind this change in individual priorities. The predominant cause is that selfieshness and individual greed are centeral of modern life. Everyone is trying to get ahead in life without even considering the impact of that on the society, to prove that they are capable of doing something better than others. For example, many businessmans are earning a decent amount of money buy intentionally using non-degradable plastics that can pollute the environment in several ways. Undoubtly, this is not a positive indicator of our future. The primary cause is that humans will loss their trust in others and the family size will start shrinking. Due to this, the social element of society will be vanished. And, this will have a catastrophic impact on our mental health, such as dipression, anxiety, stress, and etc. All these factors will halt the further development of world. To conclude, despite the emphasis on global village, many communities are adapting individualism as people are putting themselves first before thinking about the entire communitity. And the core issue is people’s desire to be better than someone at any cost. Therefore, it is evident that this will cause the families to get even smaller and worsen the mental health of individuals.