In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles overweigh the disadvantages?

In the prevailing era, technology has made people's lives more comfortable. It is expected that transportation will be driven by technology in the upcoming years and humans will no longer be needed to operate it. I believe that the autonomous vehicle would bring more cons than pros. Commencing with the most salient benefit of having driverless vehicles on the roads is that this phenomenon can reduce road accidents. They will reduce human errors and maintain a safe distance between each vehicle. To illustrate, people sometimes feel exhausted due to long hours driving. As a result, they suffer from undue stress, anxiety, and many more while driving in which most of them forget to follow safety rules and collisions between vehicles occur. Hence, automated vehicles are conducive. Despite its given advantage, I contemplate that self-drive vehicles will bring countless disadvantages. The prominent one is that this trend will escalate the unemployment rate. The number of people work in this sector around the world for their livelihood. For example, in the United States, over 16 million people are employed in transportation field in February 2025. If vehicles become driveless, the majority of people will lose their jobs. So, automated vehicles are destructive. To conclude, although driverless transportation will has some advantages since it can help to reduce road accidents, I believe that this trend has more disadvantages because it trends to decline the employment rate.