The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones all around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Nowadays, people can easily look for information through smartphones and computers. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. On the one hand, there are several reasons why the available knowledge on the websites is beneficial. A common reason is that it just takes everyone several seconds to get accurate data from the internet. For instance, when I am writing assignments, I always have to search a number of electronic scholarly resources to quote for my opinions. Another factor can be that individuals can look for information at any time. For example, when I travelled to Japan and was looking for a restaurant near the hotel at midnight, the internet was a lifesaver as it showed me about ten of the recommended eating places with helpful reviews. On the other hand, there are a number of disadvantages of using free online knowledge that people should take into consideration. One obvious drawback is that some of them are inaccurate and inappropriate to use. This means that individual must be careful to select the online sources to use. For example, choosing the realisable resources to write an assignment is always hard for me, and it often takes me hours to check. Another negative effect is that some achievable data is required to get the payment. For instance, the given information from the internet is usually fundamental, so students must pay the fees to read whole sections. In conclusion, the available online knowledge could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked. My view is that it can result in more benefits than disadvantages if we know how to collect the right ones to use.