School should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree with the statemen.

As nowadays the Internet has became prevalent and widespread all around the world, it is essential for students to be prepared for interactions with foreigners in the future. Accordingly, I totally disagree with the idea that languages learning should be electives for children. Adopting at least one second language is of major importance in this modern society. It can serve as a practical or even a survival skill. Individuals rely on this ability more aince traveling crosscountries is now popular and available among most people. English, for example, is spoken in most of the developed nations and in famous tourist spots. One would be easier to find someone who also speak English than their native language to guide when lost of directions. Additionally, able to speak a second language is definitely a plus for jobseekers who are applying for large firms, particularly international companies. Preparing young kids for better language learning is certainly beneficial. On the other hand, some critics argue that forcing children to learn language they do not use regularly is useless, and there for should not be mandatory. Some people, typically the ones with disadvantaged backgrounds, are destined to stay in their hometown for lifelong. In their case, there will not even a chance to speak with the second language. However, I believe that it is still useful even for the people who never step outside their towns to learn languages, even just a few words, because learning languages is not solely about understanding the sentences, but also learning the cultures. By learning languages, children can foster a better cultural tolerance and broaden their horizons, developing open mindsets. In conclusion, I think language learning should be compulsory for children for the reason that it can provide better career opportunities, offer a greater chance for help, and build a healthy mindset.