Today much of the food people ear gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Personally, I understand that a good part of our meals has parts coming from distanced places from where we live. Since the majority of Brazil's population lives in urban sites, it seems only natural this logistics, at least at first sight. The region, as we will see, has, indeed. good reasons for that arrangement, both economic and health related ones. Firstly, city spaces that still remains unnocupied are rare and expensive compared to rural regions. Moreover, the soil might no be ideal for the cultive of several nutrients from which we depend on to have a healthy diet. Therefore, the solution was to find places which, every year, move a little kilometers away from the ever growing city centers. In addition to much lower and more adequate climate and general conditions to plant or raise livestock, polution and toxic chemical residues from urban environments are, in those places, less of a concern. Nonetheless, that solution might trigger questions about CO2 footprints these features generate when one argues that the food has to be transported from such far away spots. The conservation methods used in the preparation of those products add, also, an extra toxic layered poison for human beings comsumption. Overall, this situation is surelly not ideal, yet, I think the pros are still clearly higher than the cons. At least in São Paulo, a city where pollution rates are still in the rising part of the curve. During the winter months, the air can turn the megalopolis one of the most dry and toxic environments in the world, justifying the distances food come from.