Transport delays and long journey times are widespread phenomena in many cites today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved.

In the prevailing era, people use different modes of transportation to travel. It is undeniable that transit delays and extended travel times are becoming major problems in urban areas. This essay will not only discuss causative factors behind this scenario, but also provides some solutions to mitigate the issues. Commencing with the most salient reasons why excessive commuting time and travel delays have become a primary predicament in cities is that traffic congestion, especially during peak hours, is responsible for this scenario. Excessive private and public vehicles are on the roads at the same times, and the government is unsuccessful to divert the traffic. For example, in Canada, different modes of transportation are on the 407 highway from 5:00 PM to 6:30PM because it is the only one road going from Toronto to Brampton. As a result, people usually spend a large amount of time on the roads, and they are less likely to reach their destination on time. Thus, trafic bottlenecks represent the greatest barrier to smooth travel. On the other hand, I believe that building new roads can help to address these issues. If multiple roads run to a city, traffic can be diverted to alternative routes. To illustrate, in India, the government has invested money building the Delhi-Mumbai expressway. This helps to reduce travel times and congestion between major cities. So, new roads should be constructed to reduce this impediment. To conclude, although traffic jams are the fundamental reason for delays in transport and an increase in transit times, I contend that this problem cannot be solved unless the authorities can build the dominant road.