Nowadays many elderly people live alone and this can cause a variety of problems. What are some of these problems and what solutions can you suggest?

Many older individuals today live alone, which can lead to a diversity of issues. The main problem this causes is the psychological issues they may face, and the most viable solution is a public awareness campaign warning people about the dangers of this phenomenon. The principal problem associated with elderly people who live alone is the mental issues that they may struggle with. These psychological problems arise because elderly individuals rarely communicate, as they often live alone; consequently, they may feel that they are lonely and there is no one that cares about them. As a result, these thoughts will overwhelm them, leading them to have a depression or even have suicidal thoughts. For example, a recent government survey in Japan found that 82% of seniors have serious mental issues that may force them to kill themselves if their condition gets worse. To tackle this problem the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about the dangers of allowing their elderly individuals to live totally alone. Authorities should educate people to communicate with older individuals and have a conversation regularly with them because these small moments will lighten their mood, and this will help them to maintain psychological well-being. An awareness campaign could shed some light on this difficult situation and allow people to be more open and honest about it. For instance, a similar initiative in Germany resulted in a 52% decrease in seniors having mental issues. In conclusion, the psychological problems faced by elderly individuals living alone are significant issues that can result in older people having depression, suicidal thoughts and various other mental health challenges; however, they can be addressed through educating people about the dangers of the phenomenon.