Social media, indeed, has enhanced the communication network and allow people to keep abreast of the happenings around them. In my opinion, despite certain advantages, I believe that the drawbacks of using social media outweigh the advantages.

The incresed popularity of social media, has improved the communication, and awareness among today's generation, by giving them easy access to the information about everything happening around them. However, there are also cons of this internet communities, which outweighs the pros, because, too much use of social media is a distraction for the youth, and secondly, it has decreased the value of family time. First and foremost, the use of internet is maximum among the children, and the youth of the society. Therefore, instead of focusing on their studies and career, they spend time scrolling through reels and videos. Furthermore, children being more vulnerable, gets easily impacted by the fake life of influencers, and would try to mimic their lifestyles, which, exposes them falling prey to the social stigmas. For example, a study showed that 65% of teenage alcohol abusers started drinking because they were influenced by their favourite celebrity or media personality, as it seemed cool. Secondly, the increasing popularity of social media platforms has disrupted the family bonds, especially between the couples. Instead of sitting together and talking, family members, now, prefer using their mobile phones and laptops. This increases the chances of miscommunications, hence leading to the destruction of a happy family, by causing trust issues and insecurities. For instance, there has been increase in number of divorces nowadays, because, of lack of communication, which happens as people instead of spending time with their spouses, would rather waste it on their electronic devices. This, gradually makes their relationship more robotic and dull over time, eventually breaking it apart. Conclusively, I totally agree that the negative ramifications of using more social media is more, than the positive, because, it impacts a kid's mindset, and prevents them from focusing on their careers. At the same time it can also break families as the addiction of being on internet, uses most of their time, which, creates distance among them.