The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although it is proven that smoking is harmful to people's health, many adults still maintain their smoking habit day to day. The potential causes of this would be the addiction to short-term enjoyment and the effect of social media. In the following paragraphs of this essay, it will be discussed in detail. First of all, one of the reasons that individuals keep consuming cigarettes would be a neurological reward loop created by smoking. It means that the addiction to chemicals from cigarettes is responsible for this unstoppable behaviour. Once the folks get used to smoke, they enjoy the short-term amusement stimulated by these chemicals. It is extremely difficult to quit if their brain enjoys this activity. For instance, it has been reported that more than 70% of smokers reuse the cigarettes after several weeks of de-addiction treatment. On the other hand, it is certain that the governments of many countries spend a lot of resources to educate their citizens that smoking is unhealthy. However, it can still be seen frequently in movies or TV series that actors or actresses who love to smoke, which represents an advertisement of smoking. The common people could believe that using of cigar is common, popular and a cool behaviour of a rich person. For instance, many rich celebrities smoke a cigar in an interview or while advising. It would be a long run to solve this issue. One solution would be that the government of each state should enact strict policies to limit the public venues where smoking is allowed. Also, it should be continuous that educate the youth to avoid using cigarettes or other addictive products. In conclusion, smoking routinely is an unhealthy lifestyle which could be reduced by new legislation banning and less influence on potential users.