In today's world many people own a smart phone. Do you think the advantages of owning a smartphone outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent world, many people own smart phones due to advancement in technology. This essay will elaborate on both merits and demerits, and an opinion will be discussed in subsequent paragraph. One the one hand, one of the main advantages of many individuals using smart phones is that, it makes life very easy.In terms of transport, these devices have commuting to places such as work,school and town more easier. For instance,many youth today have applications on their phones that helps them know the times for public transports. Example is Bus timeline application which is used to track times. This helps the society,especially students and workers to know the appropriate time to arrive at bus stations.A study conducted in Cape Coast University revealed that, smart phones have positively impacted on the society by decreasing the rate at which people report to work late. This clearly shows how these devices have been beneficial to the country. On the other hand, one main disadvantage associated with the use of phones is increased crime rates. This is because, these devices creates room for criminal activities.A good example is internet fraud.Many people especially young children between the ages of 15 and 25 use social media platforms such as Facebook, instagram and twitter. This gives them the chance to stalk people by going through their posts. As a result,they get access to their information and use it for scams. A research revealed that, the use of mobile devices have caused crime rates to rapidly increased over the past few years. This clearly shows the negative impact of these advancements. In conclusion,even though phones helps make lives easier,the negative effect on the society such as increased crimes can not be ignored.The writer therefore believes that the disadvantages outweighs the advantages.