People are surrounded by advertisement which has an increased effect on our lives. Do you think the positive effects of this outweigh the negative effects?

In a such consuming society nowadays, advertisements are everywhere. They penetrate our lives by various medias such as television, internet and outdoor billboard. Although advertising is often criticized for manipulating consumers and promoting the value of materialism, I think that when it is regulated, the positive impact of advertising far outweighs its negative impact. The main advantage of advertising lies in its economic function. To start with, it is the lifeline of the business world, enabling the company to introduce new products and services to people. For example, technology company uses attractive advertisements to promote the functions of the latest smartphones, thus stimulating demand and driving sales. This not only brings profits to the company, but also stimulate economic growth by creating job opportunities, finally benefiting the whole society. However, it is fair to admit the potential disadvantages of advertising. Advertising may manipulate consumer behavior by overstating unrealistic needs and beautifying lifestyle, which may lead to overconsumption. In addition, advertisements for children are really controversial as young generations lack the ability to control themselves. The advertiement company may make use of this characteristic to produce misleading contents, impacting children's value system. In short, although advertising does have its shortcomings, mainly manifested in manipulation, its great economic benefits are undeniable. Though proper supervision, advertising can continue to be a powerful positive force to promote economic prosperity and social progress.