The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With science being one of the most diverse subjects that is known for its ability to provide solutions and answers to complex situations, many people have come with the agreement that the most important focus of science should be to alleviate people's lives. This essay expresses mixed views because yes, it is true that science should aim to enhance people's lives, but it should not be its most important aim. On one hand, scientific research is funded by the government which is subsequently funded by the society so it is inevitable for people to want scientists to focus on the betterment of the community. For instance, many countries such as the United States have taxpayers where the money that is generated from them is used to fund hospitals, research projects and many other public resources. By aiming to improve the lives of individuals, it not only pleases and reassures the citizens but also adds value to the lives of individuals and brings a sense of pride towards one's country. On the other hand, it is not wise for scientists to put all their efforts on one category alone. But instead they should divide their resources and manpower to various situations that need to be focused on. For example, instead of only focusing on people's needs, they should focus on improving technology, military power and new inventions that could bring immense power to one's country. With strengthening their manpower and increasing their economic resources, a country would naturally focus on its people which will tremendously improve their lives. In summary, although focusing on the betterment of individual's lives is an important aspect, it should not be the only main focus of science but instead it should also be able to focus on improving technology, millitary power and research projects that bring value not only to the country but also to an individual's life.