Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, the perfect method to deal with environmental issues is to increase the price of fuel. In my opinion, I agree that this is an effective method, but there are other important steps that can also be taken to protect the environment. On the one hand, when the cost of fuel is higher, people will reduce the usage of private cars. In other words, people will not simply waste their money, and they will start using public transportation, such as buses and trains. Owing to this, the number of cars on the road will also decrease greatly. Therefore, because of this, the rate of carbon emissions from cars will also drop, which will help to improve the quality of the air. Furthermore, when the price gets higher, the government will start thinking about renewable energy, namely wind, solar, and hydro energy, which are environmentally friendly and cheaper than fossil fuels. On the other hand, there are other methods that can be used. Firstly, the government can introduce awareness programmes to educate people about protecting the environment. For instance, they should not simply throw rubbish into the sea or rivers, as this can harm fish as well as plants. Hence, the sea and rivers will always be protected. Secondly, the government can also enforce strict environmental regulations. If people damage the environment, they must be punished. With these rules, people will think twice before doing anything that could be harmful to the environment. To sum up, I once again reaffirm my position that increasing the cost of fuel can help the environment, but by having awareness programmes and strict rules, the benefits will be even greater.