In many countries legal driving age is 18 years old. Some people believe it is the right age to learn how to drive a car, whereas others say that the minimum age should be 25. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In many states, the minimum required age to drive is 18, some people suggest that this age should be increased to 25. Although increasing the legal driving age can reduce some accidents from occurring, I agree that 18 is a suitable age to start operating motor vehicles in case of any sudden emergencies. On the one hand, increasing the age limit for handling cars can decrease the number of road incidents from occurring. At 18, a person has not yet developed proper mental maturity. This means that they are more likely to engage in reckless behaviour in order to show off. For instance, in Pakistan, a majority of the serious crashes that are covered are often caused due to high-speed driving; most of these automobiles are operated by people aged 18-20. On the other hand, It is crucial to learn to drive early due to household emergencies. For instance, if there is someone in the household who requires immediate help, it will be beneficial for someone to operate the car to transport the person to the hospital. In third-world countries, facilities like ambulances are often overburdened due to inefficient management; hence, it is a neccesarry skill. Furthermore, if an individual learns to ride at a younger age, they will have better experiences than an older person that just started learning, as a result, this can indirectly reduce the number of crashes. In conclusion, while increasing the age requirement to handle automobiles can reduce accidents, I believe that keeping the threshold as it is can reduce these accidents indirectly and also be of use in case of emergencies.