Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people think that countries should domestically grow food instead of importing it. From my point of view, I disagree with this view as there are some countries which cannot grow anything. This essay will discuss the following topic and provide relevant reasons. First and foremost, exceptional cases for regions such as Iceland are hard to establish agricultural practices or plantations. So these countries focus on other aspects of economies and emphasize on that kind of development. Therefore, if countries switch to growing stuff instead of trying to import it, then the economy of that country might crumble as the land will inhibit such practice. Secondly, there are some countries which benefit from importing foodstuff from neighbouring land rather than growing things. Hence, they prefer buying it from other countries. For example, as Saudi Arabia grew richer, they started buying crops from Africa as a result of abundant yields and affordable prices. In conclusion, while it is important that growing stuff to feed the domestic population is vital, there are sometimes situations in which we are forced to buy food outside.