Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the government should provide clean water to households at no cost due to the basic human right. In my opinion, I both agree and disagree with this viewpoint and this essay will explain the reasons. On the first hand, subsiding water freely can reduce the percentage of thirst. In many regions, people are restricted to access to clean water due to harsh weather which makes lakes,streams disappear gradually, especially in arid and dusty areas such as parts of Africa. Besides that, the death rate due to being thirsty is also booming in these regions. For example, many impoverished mountain villages in Brazil have faced the limitation of water because of global warming and its altitude of thousands of meters, making most of these places become abandoned. To solve this problem, the government took responsibility to provide water systems to every house. On the other hand, I believe that there would be some potential issues which should be considered and one of them is the expensive cost. Most clean water does not exist in nature because lakes, ocean, rivers are the paradise for bacterias to grow. generating clean water needs to undergo a complicated progress, which requires an enormous number of human capitals and finance as well. In Russia, the government has to pay 100,000 dollars to provide water for 1000 citizens every day. Moreover, the cost for applying water supply to each household is also costly, which could add up to millions of dollars for a single city on average. If the government runs this project, they might not be able to afford other expenditures. To sum up, providing free access to clean water is a double-edged sword. It could be necessary for people, however, government should consider about its high-cost.