Social media has become a powerful tool for communication, but some argue that it negatively affects social interactions and mental health. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Social media is a great tool for communication; however, some argue that there are drawbacks to it, like addictivity and the type of content that is available. I do believe that it has more negative effects than positive. The chief merit of social media is the widespread communication that is available. By using social media, each person is able to interact with other people who may not be in the same place or country. The interaction these apps bring can be effective for communicating with a lot of people. Moreover, social media also provides means for communication in case of lockdowns; For instance, during the coronavirus pandemic, a number of individuals used social media to socialise with others. However, there may be disadvantages to this approach, with the main one being the addictiveness. The more a person indulges in social media, the more obsessed they become with it. As a result, they may prefer to communicate via apps rather than face-to-face. Recently, there has been a decrease in overall physical interaction since the invention of these apps. Moreover, the content that is available in such media can also harm individuals. A lot of creators heavily edit their faces and physiques in order to look perfect; this causes the viewer to be self-aware and results in unnecessary comparison. This comparison degrades one's confidence and mental health. For example, disorders like Body-dysmorphia and eating disorders are quite prevalent among social media users. In conclusion, while social media can help in communication, it also causes disorders and an obsession with such apps. Therefore, I think that the drawbacks are much more significant.