Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses?

Nowadays, it is highly debated that the number of flights should be reduced. Some people suggest that it benefits the environment, while I believe the drawbacks for individuals and corporations should not be neglected. On the one hand, reducing the number of flying times or stopping flying lead to some serious drawbacks. Firstly, people have to take a ship first then turn to land transport if they want to go to a landlocked country. It not only takes a lot of time, but also increases the cost of transportation. Regarding companies, overseas business trips usually take only a few days but it takes them multiple times on commuting, leading to the business cost increases. Secondly, if the number of passengers drops sharply, it would cause operational damage to the air industry, airport workers, and tourists, even facing bankruptcy. As a result, it shows a growth in unemployment, the governments have to invest funds to tackle these problems and the economic pressure of the country may rise. On the other hand, there are some merits of reduced flying. To begin with, environmental pollution would decline. Air planes have the highest carbon emissions, lower flying times can ease global warming. Next, corporations start to develop alternative transport systems such as electronic ships and green energy trains. However, these revolutions will take a lot of time to invent and also demand a lot of capital investment. In conclusion, reducing the number of flying times or stopping flying may benefit the environment; however, it brings more time and money costs to individuals and companies. Therefore, the disadvantages exceed the merits.