Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that nowadays, an increasing number of people are taking alternative treatments, such as buying medicines over the counter instead of depending on their family doctor. Although there are some possible benefits, I believe this is a negative development overall, and in this essay, I will state the reasons for my view. On the one hand, various possible benefits may be noted. Making an appointment and meeting their usual doctors takes almost a day on weekdays. They find it they do not have enough time to meet their usual doctors, as they are usually busy with their work and family schedule. Therefore, they tried to solve their health problem in other alternative ways to save their time. For example, most people prefer to buy medicines over the counter near their places for normal flu or sick, and try to take treatments using other traditional methods instead of visiting their family doctors. In addition, it is much cheaper and convenient because they do not need to wait long hours at a clinic. However, it may bring negative effects for people if they have a serious disease. This means that patients can only know about their diseases by checking medical machines or taking consultation with doctors. Otherwise, their diseases may spread or it can be worsen. Knowing their health condition earlier allows them to save their lives or be easily cured. For instance, patients who suffer from cancer can be easily cured in the early stage. Thus, it is important to see a doctor to get proper treatment to avoid serious conditions. To conclude, although there are positive effects of using alternative treatments, I believe that people should consider their health conditions by checking with doctors to avoid serious illness. Therefore, even if they are okay to use medicines without seeing doctors, they should check regularly with their family doctors.