Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that it is essential to determine a clear border between competition and cooperation in different aspects of life. While each stage of life has its requirements which can be provided through either competition or cooperation or both of them, I personally believe the best choice in various stages should be made based on development and growth in each stage. On the one hand, proponents of competition as the best strategy for people's life believe that competition brings about development and improvement for individuals in two ways mentally and physically. First, competition can force students to expand their personal skills. To put the case into perspective, many students try to get high scores in their exams. Reaching this requires a lot of hard work to gain or improve their skills, such as calculating or reading in primary schools. For another, during a bike race, all competitors have to try hard to boost their physical body features to be able to win in their competition. Having said that, cooperation can be perceived as a contributing factor in achieving system success. In other words, people need to work together to touch system or group goals. Take employees in the sales department as an example. All employees have to work together to raise the sales rate which is the main target in their company and individual efforts might not cover it. Additionally, group sports such as football are a clear instance that indicates without collaborating, they cannot triumph. While two teams are competing with one another, all players have to cooperate. Therefore, regarding the situation we are placed in, different strategies would be needed. To sum up, we should strike a balance between competition and cooperation with regard to the circumstances we are in. In individual activities, competition may be perceived the best strategy and cooperation is best for social projects.