News has become more popular and news has become more influential in people's lives. Why? Is this a positive or negative development

In today's world, news has become more prevalent and influential among population of the Earth. This trend can be explained by several reasons and while it has both benefits and drawbacks, I believe it is a largely positive development. One reason why news is increasingly common is technology. With the advent of technology and the internet, social media has become popular among people's daily lives. As a result, more and more individuals started getting information online. Unlike in the past, when individuals relied on newspapers, now people possess electronic devices such as smartphones, laptops or computers so as to receive information globally. Another reason is globalization; events happening in one country can have a far-reaching influence on the population of the world. In the light of that, a lot of people feel need to stay informed about the news of the entire planet in order to perceive how these issues impact their lives. The growing influence of news has both merits and demerits. On the positive side, it increases public awareness. For example, knowing about ecological and environmental problems might help people to adopt eco-friendly lifestyle, and habits which is very essential in today's world as because of this a large number of unique animals and flowers are facing extinction. In addition, news often assists individuals to show injustice of some government officials, helping to tackle the issue of corruption. As long as citizens identify something doubtful in the authority, they accustomed to shoot a video and upload it on social media in order to make other people informed and claim their rights. On the other hand, the strong influence of news can also create problems. Some channels focus on the number of viewers instead of reliability and quality, spreading fear or exaggerating minor issues to attract a great number of people. Moreover, fake news may mislead society and cause extra panic among them. If they carry on getting information from unofficial websites, it will cause even greater issues in the long run. In conclusion, the popularity of news can be explained by the progress of the technology and global connection. Although there are some risks, such as misinformation, the overall impact is highly positive as news helps people to stay informed all the time and deal with illegal actions of some officials.