大作文 In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

It is true that in multiple countries rural residents are relocating to cities, which makes the population in the countryside or suburbs decrease. There could be several reasons for this, and I consider it a negative development. In recent years, people are attracted by cities’ higher pay and convenient living environment. You can’t find any rural place that has equal salaries or the facilities that make your life more comfortable. I think no one can resist having a 24-hour grocery shop beside your house, and these are conditions that the countryside cannot provide. So it makes sense that these people want to move into cities. In my view, the changes have brought some drawbacks, such as creating an ageing rural population and urban overcrowding. Because a large number of working-age people move to urban places, the countryside only has the elderly and children. Sometimes kids cannot get proper discipline from their grandparents, since those elderly people don’t have enough energy to keep an eye on the kids all the time. And these moving working-age populations can also cause some problems. Although they can enrich the metro area’s human resources, this makes the metro area become more crowded, and this might affect the living conditions. In order to solve the problem, governments should lead some rural development projects to minimize the gap between the countryside and urban areas. In conclusion, to narrow the urban–rural gap and stop people from leaving the countryside, the government has to work closely with the public.