Many people around the world are choosing move to live in cities. What problems do people experience in big cities? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller towns?

A lot of people are starting to migrate towards big cities for better opportunities and services. However, this can cause fewer job opportunities and insufficient facilities. I believe that the government should encourage people to shift to smaller towns, by introducing new job opportunities and enhancing basic services. The most obvious disadvantage, of this mass migration is job shortages. When such an event happens, the city is eventually overpopulated. As a result, the job requirement goes considerably higher; Moreover, the vacancies for jobs are not enough to meet the requirements of the city's residents. As a result, there is mass unemployment. In Punjab region of Pakistan, it was found that the majority of its populace were residing in cities like Lahore and Islamabad, and these cities were unable to provide enough work oppurtunity for everyone. Therefore, the government should develop job oppurtunities in the smaller towns to provide its residents with livelihood, and prevent them from moving to cities. Another disadvantage of this is the shortage of facilities like healthcare and education. With a greater population, the once sufficient services the city had are now not enough. The hospitals and schools are short-staffed, which results in inefficient treatment and education. In Pakistan, Hospitals like Shifa International Hospital are crowded with patients hence, doctors and nurses are unable to give the proper time to the patients. This can be tackled by improving the basic services in the rural areas. This will encourage the locals to stay rather than to migrate to urban areas. In conclusion, Although this mass movement of people to urban areas leads to fewer job oppurtunities and inadequate facilities, the government can introduce such services and jobs in rural areas to encourage people to move to smaller towns.