Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge.

There have been some discussions over whether the human right to have access to clean water creats an obligation that any homes ought to receive it for free or not. I personally think that human rights does not mean free accessibility. On the one hand, it is argued that governments are responsible for providing clean water for people's homes based on human rights for two reasons. First, people pay taxes, and governments and other organizations are held responsible for catering some basic people's needs, including clean water. In fact, people have already paid the cost of water they are consuming when paying a part of their income to governments. Moreover, the rate of public health can increase. It is evident that most water resources are not appropriate for drinking, and they may lead to some serious diseases which are detrimental to human societies when consumed by people. Having said that, I personally concede that having access to clean water is a human right, but it should not be completely free for several reasons. Firstly, the amount of available clean water is not enough to be provided for each person. In other words, a huge amount of groundwater initially has to be refined to be suitable for consumption. The governments cannot afford to do it alone. Secondly, no one can deny when people have access to something for free, they do not pay necessary attention to optimal consumption. It can result in an increase in wastewater amount. With regard to the water crisis, it may bring about some irreparable damage. Finally, that how much water is used in any house or apartment is different based on the surface area those homes have. It is fair that people who consume a much larger amount of clean water pay more. To sum up, having access to free clean water as a basic human right for each home would result in high level of hygiene and also people have already paid its cost by paying taxes, but I completely disagree because of the water crisis and its repercussions. Regarding to the water crisi and people's behavior when they face with free services or products they receive, clean water should not be free at all.