Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

All around the world, the number of crimes is increasing. Some communities believe that the best method to reduce crime is to give long prison sentences. On the other hand, some people think that there are other choices for reducing criminal rates. This essay will discuss both views and will examine my opinion. Some governments think that it is fair to have long-time prison, especially for those who have killed criminals. Moreover, there are drug issues which cannot be solved without sever punishment. Long sentences act as protective wall to those who want to cause any problem in society. In addition, there are many terrorism issues that may affect countries’ safety, and that need long sentences to protect individuals and societies. Otherwise, there are many ideas that believe there are many solutions to reduce crime numbers. First, the awareness, and this should start from home and school. For example, the Ministry of Education can set many courses during the study years for teach children the main rules. Moreover, patients and families have a huge responsibility for their child’s attitude. Second, social media campaigns. One of the most impact ways is managing regular campaigns in all social media applications. Finally, the rate of criminals can be reduced if its returns to society’s services. In my opinion, both ways are effective, it depends on the case. In conclusion, crimes are something dangerous. Several societies believe that having long prison sentences is the best method to lower crime levels. In another view, people think that having alternative options is the best way in the long term. I partly agree on that,depending on the case itself.