Some people argue that governments should have the right to monitor all online activities of citizens in the interest of national security. Others believe this is an unacceptable violation of individual freedom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Activity on the Internet has become an integral part of modern life. Some people believe that it must be controlled by the government to protect citizens from the invasion of other countries and people who commit crimes using new technology. However, others claim that it's an act of violation of human rights. This essay will discuss both perspectives, and I will express my personal viewpoint at the end. On the one hand, every technology, including the Internet, could be used for doing bad things. Bullying, blackmail, and hacking are things that happened here. It damages the lives of many people and some companies. So, the police need to investigate such a crime. By controlling the Internet, it would be much easier and faster. Moreover, this technology could be used for spy activity that is hard to find. For example, enemies of the country may use the world wide web to spread certain ideas and destabilise the situation. By maintaining sovereignty over the Internet, the government can reduce this negative influence. On the other hand, the world wide in most cases is completely safe and a place where people can freely communicate with each other very cheaply without borders. Everyone could share ideas with a big community in an anonymous way. Moreover, crime is something that would be in every community, including the Internet. Many researchers conclude that the most effective approach to decreasing crime is to create conditions in which committing crimes is unprofitable. About the propaganda, the situation is the same. Every authority would prefer to say something about an enemy invasion to protect its power rather than to work on the interests of its citizens. It’s just the easiest way that doesn't allow other opinions to exist, even on the Internet. So, controlling it by the government would destroy social discussion and help bad people to protect their power. Moreover, every invasion in online services would decrease the safety of personal information of users and force the leaking of the data. To sum up, the government’s right to monitor the online activities of citizens may enhance public safety, but it also increases the risk of abuse of power and potential data leaks. In my opinion, the Internet should remain open to everyone, and authority intervention should be clear to society and allowed only to investigate criminal investigations.