Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to information in many countries. This is a danger to our societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, there is no doubt that technology communications are growing rapidly and people can access numerous information from other countries. Many individuals believe that this phenomenon might be damaging to societies. This essay will examine my perspectives and provide its explanation. It is evident that the rise of fake news nowadays is caused by the widespread and uncontrolled information among people. Social media algorithms lead people to compete in creating sensational news in order to go viral. In addition, artificial intelligence also can create fake images or videos, which can deliberately spread hoaxes. To illustrate, in Indonesia, those instruments are used by presidential candidate advocates to attack opponents on election days. As a result, there are many hoaxes on social media and supporters are attacking each other to defend their candidates. On the other hand, rapid information also has benefits for communities. Digital communication platforms are currently used by authorities to publish regulations and the public will be giving their feedback. Moreover, it is also used by netizens to counter the fake news that has spread widely among the public. In Indonesia, the public used this dissemination of information to organize movements as a form of criticism against arbitrary public policy made by the government. They are open crowdfunding from the public and provide all protesters' needs during demonstrations such as medical services, ambulances, and masks. The residents also use this platform to counteract provocative news and distribute news updates about this protest from different countries. In conclusion, although I agree that technological communication such as social media can lead to the spread of misinformation and damage society, it also provides the advantages for communities. Social networking services can be a medium for institutions to share policies or information that require a wide audience reach. Furthermore, it can be used to share awareness about the importance of political policy in our daily lives. To address misinformations, netizens should check the accuracy of the news and ensure that it is not provocative information before sharing it.