Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that exams and classwork play a crucial role in developing students' learning journey. While it is a commonly held belief that the only effective way to assess a student’s performance is through formal examinations, others argue that coursework and projects are a satisfactory way to do this. It is agreed that formal examinations are the best way to measure a student’s study level. The process of conducting tests will prove this. To begin with, final examinations provide a test to the entire material. Unlike continual assessment, which is often related to specific lessons. Final exams offer a well-rounded test of the whole subject. This offers students an overall understanding of all taught lessons. Therefore, this makes it clear that formal examinations are the only way to assess students’ academic level. Another point to consider is that such exams ensure reliability. In other words, examinations are carried out with a student’s presence; besides, them being thoroughly watched by their teachers. This way, tutors can make sure that pupils only rely on themselves and guarantee that no one is cheating, whereas homework can be done with the help of the internet or other classmates. Thus, it becomes apparent that this trend is essential to specify the student’s true performance. As explained above, I think that formal examinations can never be replaced with projects or classwork. They provide authenticity and test a pupil’s full comprehension of the curriculum. Consequently, they make students deserve their own marks in the best and fair way possible.