Some people say now there is less communication between the family members than in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that communication between families has changed dramatically in recent years. While some people think that there is less communication among family members now compared to the past, there is an opposing argument. In this essay, I will discuss why I believe that the first notion is largely true. To begin with, in the present world, there are many distractions we deal with every day. In other words, the internet and social media platforms take a huge amount of our daily routines; therefore, they consume a great deal of our time and energy. This behaviour makes little to no time for family gatherings, thus confirming that in these days the interactions inside homes have decreased. Another point to consider is the pursuit of materialistic items. There is no denying the fact that many people invest their time to achieve their goals, such as wealth, financial independency, better job prospects, or seek education, all of which require lots of dedication and focus. Sadly, these goals are great and seem attractive and coveted; however, they make people overlook the importance of spending time with their loved ones. Consequently, it becomes apparent that many individuals who prioritise such targets contribute to reducing the opportunity to spend a large time with their family. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that now there is less communication between family members than in the past. I think things like technology and continuous desire for achievement are the major reasons for this trend.