Language teachers should concentrate on giving positive feedback to students when they do good work, rather than on criticising bad work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In general, most people dislike criticizing, and prefer to ignore their own mistakes. However, sometimes things we do not like can be more beneficial than we think. I partially agree with the idea that teacher criticism can be efficient and effective for the student’s level. Imagine that a teacher told you to write an essay, and the teacher ’s feedback did not include any errors that you made, although the essay was full of mistakes. This would make you think that you are perfect in writing and that you do not need any improvement or further study in this skill. In contrast, giving real feedback to the student, by telling him all the mistakes he made, and whether his essay was good or bad, would show a sharp increase in the student’s level. However, criticizing is an important skill that every teacher should have and develop. In addition, this skill can be effective in a positive way or a negative way. For example, some teachers use a very bad way to give feedback, such as embarrassing students in front of their classmates, using bad language, and in some countries even using violence. Therefore, the teacher should be cautious in this approach. To conclude, criticizing is a very sensitive approach. If a teacher uses it in the right way, the development would be clear within days. On the other hand, using it in a bad way could lead to depression and a sharp fall in the student’s level. Therefore, a balance between constructive criticism and positive feedback is essential for effective learning.