The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, an increasing number of complaints from the working-class has aroused awareness regarding whether to shorten the working week. In my opinion, I utterly agree with the statement that workers should have a longer weekend, and the reasons will be illustrated as follows. First of all, a long working week would be tedious and stressful for almost every worker. If the government shortened the working weekday, workers might feel valued and understood, which can enhance their sense of belonging in the society. Subsequently, people are more willing to cooperate with each other, further improving social cohesion. Therefore, a longer weekend provides workers with more quality time to alleviate the accumulated pressure and accompany their families, thus harmonising the society. Furthermore, the imbalance between work and life is one of the most significant problems that every worker should put emphasis on. If the blue collar workers had more time to regain their body strengths by taking more rest, they could work far more efficient than the present. Similarly, should the white collar workers have more time to reorganise their ideas, they might be much more creative and more competent at thinking out of the box. Hence, it can be easily predicted that workers will be motivated by having a longer weekend, as a result of boosting the economy. In conclusion, I hold a strong and unwavering conviction that the initiative on prolonging the weekend should be implemented as soon as possible with an eye to building a cohesive society and flourishing economy.