Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch TV regularly at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

TV can help to educate children which is why parents and teachers should let children watch TV shows. I completely disagree with this idea because TV is a mere distraction and has very little contribution to a child's learning. To begin with, children are not looking forward to learn something when they are watching TV, rather they are just doing it for entertainment. Since our brain links certain activities to specific tasks, there is almost no chance that children are actually getting good information when they are in front of the TV. For example, my little brother watches English shows all the time, but I don't see him actually learning any words or phrases from them. As a result, television plays a little role in teaching children, so parents or teachers should shorten the amount of time they spend watching TV. In addition to this, there is much of adult content on TV such as films, adult shows. Children should not be exposed to this kind of content since they are not ready to consume some of the information on the shows. Because films on TV may contain violence, assault or killing which would seriously harm a child's mental health. For example, at least 10 movies are broadcasted on TV everyday which increases children's chance of watching one of them. Consequently, this would possibly be a traumatizing experience for them. Thereby, it is very difficult to learn by watching television. In conclusion, I do not agree with the opinion that watching tv can help children learn effectively and we need to encourage them. Because TV contains a lot of adult content that has no use in education of children, and kids mainly watch TV for amusement which makes it very difficult to learn anything on TV.