Parents are putting a lot of pressure on their children to succeed. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no denying the fact that many parents nowadays put a lot of pressure on their kids to succeed in life. While it is commonly held belief that this helps children to achieve more in life, there is also an argument that it may have negative effect. In my opinion, I consider that too much pressure on kids is more harmful than beneficial. To begin with, on e of the main reasons parents push their children is competition. In other words, today’s world is very competitive, and parents want their kids to have good jobs and high status. In addition, parents often believe that strong academic performance will guarantee a successful future. For example, many families expect their children to become doctors or engineers, even if the child is not interested in any job the parents wants them to join. Another point to consider, pressure from parents can also come from social comparison. It is also possible to say that some parents want to show others that their kids are more smarter or more successful. Moreover, parents may think that strict discipline will build responsibility. For instance, they may force children to study for long hours and join extra classes without free time. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that putting too much pressure on children is a negative development. It may cause stress, reduce motivation, and damage the relationship between parents and kids. Success is important, but children also need freedom and happiness in their lives.