Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

In recent years, it has become increasingly common for individuals to be less connected with their immediate neighbors. This essay will try to identify the factors contributing to this and also explain some solutions that can solve this issue. The main reason that many residents today do not often speak with their neighbors is that the world is more physically isolated. In past generations, people were more in the habit of going outside and occupying their time by talking with those living nearby. Today, the rise of technology allows the average person to do a variety of activities online including talking with friends, watching movies, playing computer games, and listening to music. These habits now occupy the vast majority of a person’s time and there is no longer a need to interact with one’s neighbor out of boredom or a feeling of connection. This modern tendency can be countered by more communal activities. Since there is no reversing technological advancement, it must be countered through proactive measures. An example of this would be a local government organizing a festival or musical performance in a park. Neighbors who meet at such events are likely to form connections and thereafter remain in contact as either casual acquaintances or actual friends. If governments are unwilling to undertake such initiatives, then local citizens can also organize various events. The result over time will be a gradual thawing of relations between neighbors. In conclusion, the way people live today leads to less interaction with one’s neighbors and this phenomenon can be mitigated with more community events. If nothing is done, society will only become more fractured and alienating.