Social media has destroyed communication among friends and family. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is strongly argued that social media could decrease the quality of communication among friends and family. In my opinion, I believe that this issue is true because of three reasons, which I will elaborate on in this essay. The first reason I hold in this view is that reaction in social media is addictive and unrealistic compared with real life. In social media, people are pampered with numbers of likes, views and comments, which could give a bunch of dopamine effects. This concept often makes people believe that a good response in communication is measured with numbers. However, in a realistic world, great communication means that people can prioritise empathy. For instance, empathy cannot be defined with numbers but somehow with feeling. This factor obviously plays a big role in why social media could destroy communication in real social connections. Secondly, social media content often gives an unrealistic standard for a way of living. Many influencers show a concept of life that might not match our current life situation. This gap could lead people to make a decision of life decision that might not be suitable for the realistic situation. In addition, this factor could be a piece of cake that would make a communication with friends or family worse. Furthermore, social media shapes us to be individual rather than prioritise true communication with the people surrounding us. People will often get busy with their own world in social media and therefore neglect to build true connections with their closest ones. In conclusion, in my opinion, social media can strongly make communication with surroundings worse because it brings addiction, unrealistic standard way of living, and individual centralised.