Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Young community always tend to compare themselves with their cohort for satisfaction, motivation or even envy. Such peer group pressure sometimes seems to provide you with stimulation and even orientation. However, in my opinion, this behaviour has the potential to lead to more negative emotions. Some individuals could find something positive through the comparison with their age. In a study, people can synthesise a better solution to a math question by contrasting each other's; in a career, a young person can be motivated by their contemporaries' different job choices, thus choosing a suitable but never thought one. What's more, when you recognise you have a better life than someone, s sense of satisfaction and joy appear. However, always being influenced by their peers is not only a waste of time but also a catalyst of negative emotions. When people consciously compare themselves with others, if this person is better off, this individual may feel anxious and envious, causing mental disorder and more terribly affecting normal growth orders. In addition, investing considerable time and energy into analysing others' lives couldn't really change people's life track. It is just a waste of time. Enjoying and focusing on own life is more valuable. In conclusion, peer pressure can lead to some short-term influence but if you want long-term benefits, it is important to shield such pressure sometimes.