Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

Some individuals argue that international tourism is invading their country. In my opinion, these people overlook the substantial financial gains brought by tourists to the country. First and foremost, according to some nationlists, foreign visitors contribute to disrupting a country's cultural identity. Whenever someone visits a foreign country, they often influence the local culture, because their dressing style, food habits, and communication methods are different. This difference is adapted by local youth, as they get influenced by the travellers and integrate their ways of clothing, and eating into their daily life. This results in youngsters forgetting their traditional paths, which creates a huge backlash from the groups responsible for maintaining cultural integrity. Consequently, making those people against tourism. For Instance, foreigners are banned from visiting some temples, and communities by the local government, because the young generation was getting influenced by Western communities, forgetting their roots, thus creating a strong opposition by local community. On the other hand, while touring, people not only bring their culture or lifestyle but also bring an economic boost for that tourist place. These individuals pay quite hefty amounts for hotels and tour guides, therefore contributing to the local economy. Furthermore, by purchasing local goods, they also support small-scale vendors and shopkeepers. To continue, everything including their journey to stay is taxed by the government, those taxes are further used in the development of that area. So, by highlighting the benefits they bring to a region, an individual's mindset can be diverted towards the positive impacts of tourism. For example, Singapore's government was able to build a rigid tourism -based economy by explaining to the netizens about the financial benefits. In conclusion, although tourism does result in some cultural modifications, which are sometimes not accepted by the regional population, but the amount of pros it brings in the form of finances to those regions can certainly change people's mindset towards tourism. As the cultural identity can not feed the citizens, whereas money can.