The increase in crime rate in cities is a major concern for governments. Discuss the causes of this increase and suggest ways to reduce crime.

Recent years, increase of crime rates in cities is one of the biggest problems that governments have. In this essay, I would like to examine the causes of this phenomenon and the possible solutions. It is notable that criminal acts are occured frequently in cities compare to country areas. It is simply because there are more people living in cities; however, there are deeper backgrounds behind it. Firstly, a gap between rich and poor is immense in major cities like London, Vancouver, and Tokyo. The living cost is increasing every year, and that makes rich becomes richer, and poor becomes poorer. For this reason, some individuals experience criminal acts to earn some money to survive a day. Secondly, increase of unemployment rate and the spread of smart phones accelerate individuals to commit crimes. A study shows that a crime rate of young generations increase in cities and 82% of the crime acts are occured by using smart phones. As a result, it is crucial that governments take actions to slove these problems. In order to reduce the gap between rich and poor, governments need to support education, medical services, and welfare financially. In addition, I believe that unemployed people and retired people should have more opportunities to learn technical skills and knowledges to find better jobs in the future. In conclusion, crime rate is rose because of the gap between rich and poor, increase of unemployment, and unprofitable ways of using smart phones. Governments need to play vital roles on supporting those people financially in terms of education, medical, and welfare.