Your local TV channel wants to decide on either creating a new family sitcom or a documentary series for the evening slot between Monday to Friday. Choose between options A and B. Why do you prefer your option? Explain the reasons for your choice, and write about 150-200 words.

Local TV channels often face a challenging situation wherein they must decide what to air in the prime time slot of the evening in the weekdays.The choice is usually between a family sitcom or an informative documentary series.Personally, I would undoubtedly go with the family sitcom. This essay discusses how the evening slot has an innate potential to boost viewership of channel if a sitcom is chosen rather than a documentary. Evening slot of the weekdays,usually a time between 7 to 9 pm is a time when most members of a family are back home from work or school or any other outdoor activities.At this stage most members are usually looking to relax in the calm environment of their home,watching a light hearted comedy or may be a some nice drama. This ensures that the TV channel gets maximum viewership in those prime time hours.As per a recent research by the University of Greenwich, it was found that the viewership of a TV channel doubled during these peak evening hours when a sitcom was aired. On the other hand, it has been observed that the channels that aired a documentary series, recorded a steep decline in viewership.As per a survey done by BBC, i was found that most households almost always changed channels to the ones airing a movie or a sitcom in the prime time rather than watching a documentary series. Thus, it can be concluded that choosing to air a documentary in prime time hours of evening would almost always result in a sudden dip in the popularity of the channel eventually and hence the clear choice is airing a sitcom.